Another Newbie Announcing their Noob-ness

(This is a thread from Mizahar's fantasy role play forum. Why don't you register today? This message is not shown when you are logged in. Come roleplay with us, it's fun!)

Drop on by, introduce yourself, and let us know how you found us. In addition, don't be afraid to tell us what you'd like to get out of your Mizahar experience. Check out the stickies for more information.

Postby Dahrien Rhale on August 22nd, 2013, 1:34 am

My name irl is Jared, I've been role-playing in some fashion or another for 10 years. Most of my experience is with pen and paper RPGs (D&D, White Wolf, Star Trek, Cyber Punk 2020, Call of Cthulhu, etc. etc. Ad Infinitum), though I have through the years done the occasional forum based RP, this will be my first online RP on this kind of scale. My writing skill is probably a bit off-putting at the moment, hopefully that will correct quickly, a bit rusty with my skills currently.
I've actually been registered for about three weeks prior to this post, I haven't posted until now due to trying to digest all that I can about the site/world/etc. Which I have discovered is a daunting task! Admittedly though, that is part of what drew me to the site, the depth and unique nature of the setting are exactly what this slightly disgruntled role player has been dying for. RPG Storytelling has become so formulaic, simply due to the unchanging almost religious adherence to Tolkien style fantasy that it's become a bit like a job: Clock in, do your check list, appease management, go home. No room for character development, outside the "acceptable", and the rewards or consequnces all painfully familiar tropes as well.
Though my personal gaming group has a nack for avante garde storytelling, even we