Orin's Omnibus of Recipes

(This is a thread from Mizahar's fantasy roleplay forums. Why don't you register today? This message is not shown when you are logged in. Come roleplay with us, it's fun!)

Feel free to start IC Journaling in this forum. Each character is allowed threads here where they can store notes they learn IC, facts, or even talk about their feelings and inner thoughts. Journals don't need to be in written form, they be anything you as a player thinks suits the personality of the Characte.r

Orin's Omnibus of Recipes

Postby Orin Fenix on January 27th, 2015, 6:06 am

1 Fall, 514

I guess I should write down why I'm doing this, in case I get distracted or feel like slacking off one day. If that happens, I want to remember this message. It occurred to me the other day that if I really wanted to make a serious go of being a chef, I should probably consolidate all of my recipes in one place. And I definitely want to try. Even if I fail, it's got to be worth something right? Anyway, I'm hoping that I'll be able to remember everything I learn, but my memory has let me down in the past. So, with this, I won't be worried about forgetting an ingredient or a cooking time or anything like that. And maybe someday I can publish a cookbook. While it might be a silly thought, I can't help but hope that one day it might come true.

I thought long and hard about what recipe to put down first. Then it occurred to me that the recipe I should put down first is the first recipe I ever learned. Then I had the most clever idea! What if I wrote down the story of how I learned the recipe, as a memory aid? After all, I was never real good at facts, and if I have a story attached I'm bound to be able to remember it more clearly. If not, I'll have the story down on paper where I can always cherish it. It's one of the few happy memories I have of my childhood after all. So, first, the recipe, then the story. It's really quite simple, but that doesn't make it any less good.