I'm new here, but I've noticed something is missing: Fossils

(This is a thread from Mizahar's fantasy roleplay forum. Why don't you register today? This message is not shown when you are logged in. Come roleplay with us, it's fun!)

This is the first step to starting a lore article. Please hold all conversations about lores here in this forum. No development takes place here ie Article posting. This forum is simply for threads that want to hash out what a lore should or shouldn't include as well as its merits and flaws. One can also gauge interest in new lore here as well. Polls are encouraged.

Moderator: Scribes

Postby Zephari on May 8th, 2015, 10:38 pm

I am new to mizahar and I am really loving it, however I have run into a bit of a gap in mizahar lore. My character is a geologist and loves everything having to do with the earth, and digging in it. So we do have our lists of minerals, metals, ores, and gems. But I can find no evidence of any type of fossil anywhere. I don't know if this has been overlooked, or had been ignored on purpose, but I think it is something that could add significant value to the game, mainly in finding pre-valterrian remains, which could be of use and high value to the right people. Its just something I wanted to put out as an idea, and if anyone thinks this could work, please respond!
Zephari
The Collector

Words: 107646
Joined roleplay: February 22nd, 2015, 7:27 pm
Race: Human, Benshira
Character sheet
Storyteller secrets
Plotnotes
Medals: 1
Trailblazer (1)

Postby Sedge on May 9th, 2015, 12:10 am

You're right in that, so far as I know, nothing's really been developed for fossils. That said, Pre-Valterrian remains in the usual sense, creatures from the time of the Alahean and Suvan Empires, would not have fossilized -- not over a timescale of centuries. Not without some kind of magical or divine cause, and if that happened, they wouldn't be fossils the way we usually apply that word. So fossils don't really work there.