Fortune Telling Skill Expansion

(This is a thread from Mizahar's fantasy roleplay forums. Why don't you register today? This message is not shown when you are logged in. Come roleplay with us, it's fun!)

This is the first step to starting a lore article. Please hold all conversations about lores here in this forum. No development takes place here ie Article posting. This forum is simply for threads that want to hash out what a lore should or shouldn't include as well as its merits and flaws. One can also gauge interest in new lore here as well. Polls are encouraged.

Moderator: Scribes

Postby Asterope on December 15th, 2017, 1:29 pm

I spoke to Cham about this, as she was the last one working on it in 2015, and I've decided I want to work on expanding the fortune telling skill. I'll be taking into consideration what she previously had written up, but essentially I'll be starting from scratch. I read tarot irl (though I am fairly new to it), so I do have some knowledge and lots of interest on the topic.

A large portion of the article would likely detail the different methods of fortune telling, as there are so many. Tarot cards, rune casting, bone casting, tasseography, palm reading, hydromancy, and pyromancy are some of the more common ones that could be covered. It would be impossible to list all methods.

Cham had developed how fortune telling would differ across the regions; while I might rework some of it, I plan on including that as well. There would also be a section detailing the difference between fortune telling and the use of magic or gnosis as well as how they could be used in conjunction.

If anyone has any suggestions I'm all ears; I'm excited to start working on this! :D

"Common" | "Nari" | "Pavi" | Thoughts
"Other People's Speech"

The sun will rise, and we will try again
Asterope
A light that never goes out

Words: 661387
Joined roleplay: August 16th, 2017, 11:11 pm
Race: Ethaefal
Character sheet
Storyteller secrets
Journal
Plotnotes
Medals: 5