[Khida's Scrapbook] The Curve of the Wind

(This is a thread from Mizahar's fantasy role playing forums. Why don't you register today? This message is not shown when you are logged in. Come roleplay with us, it's fun!)

The player scrapbooks forum is literally a place for writers to warm-up, brainstorm, keep little scraps of notes, or just post things to encourage themselves and each other. Each player can feel free to create their own thread - one per account - and use them accordingly.

Postby Khida on July 12th, 2013, 1:30 am

I probably won't use this space much, though one never knows... Most likely, the majority of posts will have to do with RL and how it impacts my availability on Mizahar, directly or indirectly. Like today's.

First, a little bit of context. I'm a graduate student in molecular biology. Despite the "student" in there, I don't follow anything resembling the usual U.S. academic calendar (e.g. no summer vacation). I've passed my preliminary exam, the make-or-break point where my committee said 'yeah, you're good to go for the Ph.D.' as opposed to 'forget it, you're out of the program'. At this stage, I no longer even take classes, I just do research towards my dissertation. Which amounts to a full-time job... and then some.

This entire year has been one huge, non-stop series of deadlines and major pushes to complete work for said deadlines, even more so than usual. And the only 'vacation' I've had wound up unavoidably eaten into by some of those very things. Long story short, I'm running on fumes at this point, if even that. Furthermore, I have umpteen things coming due within the next eight weeks, and I have to stretch those fumes to accomplish as many as I possibly can. This should be the last major convergence for a good while, thankfully... but I still have to get through it before I can think about recuperating.