Completed [Tuvya Sasaran] Once More, With Feeling

A self-taught warrior learns that he still has a long way to go.

(This is a thread from Mizahar's fantasy roleplay forum. Why don't you register today? This message is not shown when you are logged in. Come roleplay with us, it's fun!)

Built into the cliffs overlooking the Suvan Sea, Riverfall resides on the edge of grasslands of Cyphrus where the Bluevein River plunges off the plain and cascades down to the inland sea below. Home of the Akalak, Riverfall is a self-supporting city populated by devoted warriors. [Riverfall Codex]

[Tuvya Sasaran] Once More, With Feeling

Postby Hirem on May 21st, 2014, 12:23 am

72nd of Spring, 514 AV
11th Bell, 31st Chime

"Begin."

After the first match, his ego was wounded.

"Cease."

After the second match, his knuckles ached painfully.

"Begin."

After the third match, Hirem was beginning to despair of ever taking down an Akalak trainee in single combat.

"Cease."

The fourth match left him feeling a little bit better, as he had finally managed to subdue one of his opponents.

"Begin."

After the fifth match, however, Hirem was confronted with the truth: whatever skill he thought he had acquired in combat, whatever prowess he imagined that he had, was insufficient compared to even the most basic of Akalak disciplines. He was no stranger to the art of combat, but he kept making rookie mistakes that his rivals found easy to exploit. They flipped around him, they ducked and weaved under his careless attacks, they lashed out at his unprotected sides and left him crippled on the floor. His fifth opponent didn't even bother with a guard; lunging under his wild swing, the young Akalak wrapped an arm around his shoulder, hauled him off the ground, and slammed him onto the floor, pinning him in one effective manuever. "Cease!" The master cried, and just like that, the bout was done, the Akalak warrior already pushing himself to his feet.