Questions unanswered and answers unquestioned (solo)

(This is a thread from Mizahar's fantasy role playing forum. Why don't you register today? This message is not shown when you are logged in. Come roleplay with us, it's fun!)

Center of scholarly knowledge and shipwrighting, Zeltiva is a port city unlike any other in Mizahar. [Lore]

Postby Wrenmae on August 31st, 2012, 3:57 am

54th of Summer 512 AV

“Tell me about Mikey.”

The nurse sighed, placing a medical chart down on the bed of a wounded dock worker before turning back to Murdock. She was a tired woman, greying hair and wrinkles setting in, cracking from the corners of her eyes. Shadows touched her skin, the pallor of exhaustion was on her. She worked herself to vulnerability here, and soon she too would fill a bed.

“What does the Waveguard want with the boy?”

“Nothing,” Murdock answered with a shrug, “I had heard from Doctor Willam that he took a turn for the worst. I’m not an expert on what’s happening in Zeltiva, but this rash of illnesses seems to be crippling us all. Would it be impossible for me to see the child?”

Two days ago, Murdock had begun his inquiries into Tock Zipporah. Her reputation had been rising around town, somewhat for her strange attendants and more steadily for her impressive work. According to a man on East Street, she was building a Monument in Zeltiva, seeking out advice from the people. After the Djed storm and this plague of illnesses and infection, something to look forward to was a blessing. The people clung to her idea as a drowning man might a floating spar of driftwood. The Doctor was seen speaking to Tock in the infirmary after a puppet show and revealed she had visited one child, a boy named Mikey, several times.
“I’m not his attending physician,” the doctor had said forlornly, “But the boy does not seem to be getting better.”