What is metagaming?

(This is a thread from Mizahar's fantasy role playing forums. Why don't you register today? This message is not shown when you are logged in. Come roleplay with us, it's fun!)

Feel free to post all your Mizahar related discussions here.

Give Goss a break and post here instead!

Postby Baine Coolwater on October 18th, 2011, 3:58 am

Aidara,

Thanks, XD Can't anyway. :P Seems you can't delete from her scrap... or another's tread, or a founder's thread. Anyway, it's there. Just wanted Gossamer to know that she's appreciated and valued by newbs as well as the old guard. She, along with the other founders have built a world like I've never seen. It's magnificence is mind blowing.

As to metagaming:

Even though I have some game experience, this type of gaming...what is here on Mizahar, is different, like I said. That doesn't mean it's easy to switch from going great guns towards the goal.

I mean, I know I've for one, sat for butt-numbing hours ranking up a character in video games. Here, I have to keep reminding myself, "It's the journey, stupid!"
Baine Coolwater
Player

Words: 9273
Joined roleplay: October 7th, 2011, 8:40 pm
Race: Human, Vantha
Character sheet
Storyteller secrets

Postby Zandelia on October 18th, 2011, 10:22 am

It is true that there are differing types of 'metagaming' within any writing roleplay site such as Mizahar. It's something that is largely unavoidable. Sometimes it's down to not having the correct mindset, or as Baine put, its a difficulty in transition from other - perhaps different - forums. Such things can be understood, helpfully changed/guided in the correct mindset and forgiven for the most part. Everyone makes mistakes after all.